Album: All My Demons Greeting Me As A Friend

Musikknyheter.no - AURORA - All My Demons Greeting Me As A Friend
Album still available at Auroramusic Store

The approach to releasing an album this way was quite unusual. Out of the twelwe songs included on the album, so many as five of them was already out there. This fact didn't seem to affect the reception, though. A quick search on album reviews reveals that the album got high ranks all over the world.

Aurora had already 32 complete song written down by the end of the year of 2012. We can only imagine how many she had at the time she recorded this album (^16.2)

Furthermore, selecting which song that should make it to the album must have been hard choices to make. In the end, though, she seemed quite pleased when she could finally announce the release date back in December 2015:

"It is so much more satisfying to make an album than one song at a time," says Aksnes in a press release. "One song is only a chapter and the album is the book." (^16.3)

About the title of the album, she said:

"My first child will be named 'All My Demons Greeting Me As a Friend'... you know - we all have demons... We have dark memories and experiences in life, and it's nice to think that in the future you'll be greeted by them as a friend... You realize that because it happened, you've grown as person and learned a lot... I like the atmosphere of it." (^16.4)

The album itself is described as dark or sad, though Aurora is clear on the topic. She don't want to make people sad, and that she strives to give her songs some hope or light:

"Many of my fans they tell me that they often listen to my songs to get through things. Therefor I hope that they can listen to it and picture a place where things are better... That must be nice... I hope my music can bring people to a calm place" (^16.4)


Songs on the album



Extended version



Thanks for reading Childlike Soul Newsletters! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Sources

16.1 - Interview about upcoming album
https://web.archive.org/web/20160420082241/http://www.thefourohfive.com/music/article/aurora-interviewed-i-started-to-write-songs-in-the-first-place-to-help-myself-get-through-things-143

16.2 - Midtsiden (local paper)
https://www.midtsiden.no/debutant-til-topps-pa-urort

16.3 - Aurora announces debut album
https://web.archive.org/web/20160515122336/http://www.thefourohfive.com/music/article/aurora-announces-debut-album-all-my-demons-greeting-me-as-a-friend-145

16.4 - 16.4 - Beable talks to Aurora, our new obsession
Baeble Talks to Aurora, our new obsession.